One Week ‘Til Christmas – Belinda Missen

 

 

 

One Week ‘Til Christmas is the latest romantic comedy book by the Australian author Belinda Missen. Isobel is a travel writer from Melbourne spending the week before Christmas in London, and Tom is an up-and-coming English actor. One evening while waiting for the bus back to her friend’s flat, Isobel is knocked off her feet and ends up in the gutter covered in snow and mud, with a stranger in her lap. A charmingly handsome stranger to boot. Isobel flees the scene, humiliated. She never expects to see the stranger again, but fate has other things in store for her. Isobel is assigned to interview Tom for work the very next day, and the two end up forming a bond over their hectic lifestyles and love of all things festive.

One Week ‘Til Christmas is such a delightful, light-hearted novel – it will really put you in the festive spirit. The background of the novel is London at Christmas. The characters go ice skating, drink mulled wine, explore winter wonderland, and even visit Santa. It is honestly one of the best settings for a festive novel, but perhaps I’m biased because London is one of my favourite places to spend Christmas.

The characters of Isobel and Tom are both so loveable, and I found myself rooting for them throughout. I found myself relating to Isobel quite a lot, which is always a fun experience when reading (well perhaps not, depending on the character). The romance was truly charming; perfect for a festive rom-com. It perhaps wasn’t entirely realistic, but given that the book was only set over a few days I can forgive this. It really suits the nature of a festive book ac. It wasn’t too cheesy, it was just fun. Fun would be a great way to describe this book as a whole actually. I certainly enjoyed reading it.

I have only positive things to say about Belinda Missen’s writing. The style was smooth, and the voice was consistent. If you enjoy Sophie Kinsella’s writing, then I am sure you will like Belinda Missen because she is equally hilarious.

One Week ‘Til Christmas was published on November 1, 2019 by HQ Digital, just in time for the festive season. I would like to thank NetGalley and HQ Digital for my advance reader copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

Two people. Once chance meeting. Seven days to Christmas.

Isobel Bennet is waiting for the number 11 bus when a man quite literally falls into her lap. Snow is falling, Christmas lights are twinkling, and a gorgeous man with dark brown hair has just slipped on ice and is now pressed against Isobel. Isobel knows she’s not imagining the chemistry between them. But then his ride arrives and, embarrassed, he beats a hasty retreat, murmuring apologies – and Isobel realises only too late that she didn’t manage to catch his name…

When she runs into him again the next morning, she decides it’s fate. It’s a second change for Isobel and Tom – but there’s only one week until she’s leaving London for good. Seven days of enjoying all the festive delights the city has to offer: ice-skating at Somerset House, mulled wine on the Southbank, Christmas shopping at Liberty.

There’s magic in the air and mistletoe in the trees – but what will happen when the week is over? For fans of Josie Silver, Lucy Diamond, and Marian Keyes, this one is one Christmas romance you don’t want to miss!

Belinda Missen is an Australian author. She lives in Victoria and enjoys baking, as well a reading coming books and writing of course.

 

One Week ‘Til Christmas is a charming, light-hearted read that will put you in the festive spirit. It is an essential holiday romance.

My rating: ★★★★☆

 

What are you favourite holiday books? I’d love to know in the comments below.

 

Purchase links:

Amazon (UK): here

Amazon (US): here

 

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase using these links, I earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.

SHARE:


0 comments so far.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: