Review: All The Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: All The Stars and Teeth by Adalyn GraceAll the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1) by Adalyn Grace
Published by Imprint on February 4, 2020
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 373
Format: eBook, ARC
Source: Netgalley
Purchase from Amazon UKPurchase from WaterstonesPurchase from Foyles

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. All proceeds will be donated to Black Lives Matter.

Goodreads
four-stars

She will reign.
As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.
When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.
But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.
I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.
Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

All the Stars and Teeth is a debut high fantasy novel by Adalyn Grace. It is the first book in a series. The story follows Amora Montara, the princess of the island kingdom of Visidia, as she fights to save her kingdom.

Amora is one of the two potential heirs to the throne in the kingdom. The leadership of the kingdom passes through the Montara bloodline, because of the story of a powerful creature who fought to destroy the kingdom many generations ago. The creature was defeated, and is contained with the Montara family’s soul magic. The Montara family is the only family in the kingdom permitted to practice this branch of magic, and it is only practices under specific circumstances.

Soul magic is not the only type of magic in Visidia; in fact the kingdom is divided into seven islands, each of which is bounded by its own magic. Residents of each island are only permitted to practice the magic that corresponds to their island. Alongside soul magic, there is elemental magic, enchantment magic, mind magic, time magic, restoration magic, and curse magic. All Visidians are only allowed to practice one type of magic by law. Anyone who breaks this law risks the safety of the entire kingdom.

Rating Breakdown
Characters
four-stars
Atmosphere
four-half-stars
Writing
four-stars
Plot
four-stars
Intrigue
four-stars
Logic/Relationships
three-half-stars
Enjoyability
four-stars
Overall: four-stars

However, a growing number of Visidians have started to fight this rule, under the direction of Kaven, a rebel from the banished island of Zudoh, where the citizens practice curse magic. Kaven not only wants everyone to be able to practice any type of magic, he wants to practice soul magic. He will stop at nothing to get his way.

While this book is initially slow to start, it soon turns into a fast-paced adventure that is gripping and highly entertaining. Imagine Pirates of the Caribbean, but with magic and mermaids. A lot of the story takes place on board a ship called Keel Haul, captained by Bastian. When Amora has to flee her home island of Arida after her succession trial goes very wrong, Bastian brings her on board the Keel Haul. They are joined by Amora’s fiancé. As Amora journeys to save her world, she learns more about it than ever before and is exposed to a secret that will change how she looks at her magic forever. Amora grows so much in this book; she starts out as an egotistical princess, and turns into a strong, bad ass female by the end. I do love books with a strong female character.

I am most impressed by the world building in All the Stars and Teeth, which is fantastic. The magical system is also incredibly intriguing, if a bit confusing at times. However, one thing about this book that I did not enjoy was how violent it is. The way in which soul magic is practiced is, quite frankly, disgusting. There are vivid descriptions of blood, bones, and death – it is quite gory and dark at times. It makes sense for the plot, but I still found it a bit disturbing.

Despite the violence, I still really enjoyed this book. If you are looking for an adventurous, fast-paced fantasy then it is a great choice – especially if you enjoy books primarily set at sea!

Thank you for taking the time to read my review!

xx Claudia

four-stars
SHARE:


0 comments so far.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: